Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually in recognition of an individual's outstanding achievement and unselfish dedication to his or her community. 

Those are honored with this award have, through their life and work, embodied Chandler’s mission and Six Pillars of Character: Trustworthiness, Respect, Responsibility, Fairness, Caring and Citizenship.

The Chandler School Alumni Council encourages nominations for this award, with particular interest in:
  • Significant accomplishment in career or field of interest;
  • Excellence in service to the community or to society in general;
  • Volunteer service which has inspired others;
  • Embodiment of Chandler's six pillars of character.
Nominations are considered confidentially by the Chandler School Alumni Council, and the award is presented at Commencement in June. Please contact Jennifer Sells Johnson ’94 with nominations or questions at (626) 795-9314 ext.111.

2019 Dr. Edward Merchant '63

2018 Winner Ann Fromholz '82

Award Winners

James Demetriades '77
Dr. Edward Merchant '63

Ann Fromholz '82
Nathaniel Ru '99
Justin Liu '05
David Clifford ’86
John Battelle ’79
Keisuke Nakagawa ’96
Brent C. Tufeld ’74 CHS ’78
John V.S. Berger ’88
Maureen Madsen Short ‘84
Joyce Wang Sakonju ‘87
Harry C. Andrews ‘56
Matthew G. Wright ’74 CHS ‘78
Thomas W. Rose ‘92
Melina Eversole Montoya ‘75
Wayne Brandt ‘77
Maryann Baribault ’92
James McInerny ’69
James W. Boswell ‘66
S. Allan Johnson ’51